Robert Elsie | AL Art | AL History | AL Language | AL Literature | AL Photography | Contact |

Robert Elsie

Frühe Fotografie in Albanien

 
BACK  |  AL Photography
Webdesign J. Groß

Die Fotosammlung
des Josef Székely

English | Shqip

Albanien — Kosova — Makedonien
1863

Zu den frühesten Fotosammlungen Südosteuropas gehören die Albanien­bilder des Wiener Fotografen, Josef Székely. Aufgenommen wurden sie während einer von Johann Georg von Hahn geleiteten Expedition der Österreichischen Akademie der Wissenschaften im Jahre 1863.

Der deutsche Philologe und Balkan-Forscher, Johann Georg von Hahn (1811-1869), wird oft als Vater der Albanologie bezeichnet. Hahn wurde in Frankfurt am Main geboren und studierte Rechtswissenschaft in Gießen und Heidelberg. Von 1843-1847 war er im Justizdienst für das neu gegründete Königreich Griechenland tätig. 1843-1847 vertrat er das preußische Konsulat in Athen, wechselte bald dann zum österreichischen Staatsdienst und wurde österreichischer Vizekonsul in Janina, der damaligen Hauptstadt Albaniens, wo er vermutlich den ersten Kontakt mit den Albanern hatte und, nach einer längeren Albanienreise im Jahre 1850 sich ernsthaft mit dem Albanischen zu beschäftigen begann. Schließlich wurde er im Jahre 1851 zum öster­reichischen Konsul für das östliche Griechenland (1851-1858) ernannt, mit Amtssitz auf der ägäischen Insel Syros.

Josef Székely VUES IV 41055
Tivar: bei Regen aufgenommen. Ca. 25. August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41056
Shkodra: Südansicht der Festung. Ende August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41057
Shkodra: Ansicht der Stadt von der Festung. Ende August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41058
Shkodra: Aussicht von der Festung auf den See. Ende August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41059
Shkodra: Südostansicht von der Festung aus. Ende August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41060
Shkodra: Nordaussicht von Bakalek [Bahçallëk]: Vorstadt von Shkodra. Ende August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41061
Shkodra: Albaneserin (Shkodraner Braut). Ende August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41062
Shkodra: Gruppe von Albaneserinnen (in Shkodraner Tracht). Ende August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41063
Shkodra: Kiribrücke bei Shkodra. Ende August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41064
Koman: Drinenge. Anfang September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41065
Koman: Kessel von Koman (Ostansicht vor der zweiten Dringenge). Anfang September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41066
Prizren: Südostansicht, 1. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41067
Prizren: Südostansicht (Fortsetzung), 1. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41068
Prizren: Südostabhang des Festungsberges. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41069
Prizren: Südostabhang des Festungsberges (Fortsetzung). September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41070
Prizren: Die Ljumbrücken. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41071
Dibra: Felsweg bei Dibra. 21. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41072
Dibra: 21. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41073
Ohrid (Ochrida): Südostansicht. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41074
Ohrid (Ochrida): Südostansicht. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41075
Ohrid (Ochrida): Spezialansicht. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41076
Ohrid (Ochrida): Ostansicht der Sofienmoschee. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41077
Ohrid (Ochrida): Westansicht der Sofienmoschee. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41078
Ohrid (Ochrida): Ruine. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41079
Ohrid (Ochrida): Südende. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41080
Albanesen aus Dibra: Gruppe von vier Pallikaren. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41081
Kalishta (Kallistia): Kloster am See von Ochrida. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41082
Sweti-Naum: Kloster am See von Ochrida. Südansicht. Ende September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41083
Sweti-Naum: Kloster am See von Ochrida. Nordansicht. Ende September 1863
Josef Székely VUES IV 41084
Manastir: Südansicht. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41085
Manastir: Südansicht. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41086
Manastir: Südansicht. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41087
Manastir: türkisches Militär. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41088
Manastir: türkisches Militär. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41089
Manastir: türkisches Militär: Gruppe der Besatzung von Monastir, Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41090
Manastir: türkische Militär: Generalität der Besatzung von Monastir. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41091
Prilep: Prillip und Markokrals Festungsberg. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41092
Prilep: Der Festungsberg, nach Sonnenuntergang aufgenommen. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41093
Weles: Wardarbrücke. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41094
Weles: am linken Wasserufer. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41095
Demir Kapi [Demirkapu]:  Nordansicht der Wardarenge. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41096
Demir Kapi [Demirkapu]:  innere Ansicht. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41097
Demir Kapi [Demirkapu]:  innere Ansicht. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41098
Zigeuner aus Mazedonien, stehend. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41099
Zigeuner aus Mazedonien, sitzend. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41100
Salonik: Südansicht. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41101
Salonik: Südansicht (Fortsetzung). Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41102
Salonik: die Schule des heiligen Paulus. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41103
Salonik: die Kirche des heiligen Paulus. Oktober 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41104
Salonik: Derwischkloster bei Salonik. Oktober 1863 simple jquery lightboxby VisualLightBox.com v5.9

Während seiner Jahre in Janina reiste Hahn dreimal durch Albanien und sammelte dabei Informationen über albanische Geschichte, Philologie und Volkskunde. Die Ergebnisse seiner Forschungsreisen wurden zu einem beträchtlichen Teil in seinem dreibändigen Werk, Albanesische Studien, Jena 1854, veröffentlicht, das immer noch als Grundwerk der Albanologie gilt. In Erinnerung geblieben ist er allerdings auch für seine Sammlung: Griechische und albanesische Märchen, Leipzig 1864, und für die Berichte seiner Balkan­expeditionen: Reise von Belgrad nach Salonik, Wien 1861, und Reise durch die Gebiete des Drin und Vardar, Wien, 1867, 1869.

Letztere Reise fand vom August bis November 1863 statt. Von Shkodra aus erforschten Hahn und seine Begleiter das Drintal bis Prizren in Kosova, und reisten nach Westmazedonien und in das Vardartal runter nach Salonika an der Ägäis. Hahns Interessen an Albanien und das umliegende Gebiet waren vielfältig. So kam es, dass er während dieser Reise – vielleicht eher zufällig – auch die Grundlagen der Fotografiegeschichte im Südwesten der Halbinsel schuf, da ein Hauptergebnis der Expedition des Jahres 1863 eine faszinierende Foto­sammlung war - fünfzig Aufnahmen von höchster Qualität, die zu den frühesten in der Region gehören.

Anfang der 1860er Jahre begann Hahn, seine Reise durch das bisher unerforschte Drintal vorzubereiten. Er beschrieb den Drin als “... von allen europäischen Flüssen der unbekannteste, obwohl seine Mündung in die Adria nur zehn Meilen von der Südspitze des Kaiserstaats entfernt ist... denn von der Verbindung seiner beiden Hauptarme bis zum Eintritt des vereinten Flusses in die Küstenebene hat noch niemand vor dem Verfasser dessen mehr als zwanzig- stündiges Rinnsal verfolgt.” Laut Gerhard Grimm (Johann Georg von Hahn: Leben und Werk, Wiesbaden 1964, S. 92) zeigte sich Erzherzog Maximilian I (1832-1867), der nachmalige Kaiser von Mexiko (r. 1864-1867), von dem Vorhaben begeistert und versprach die dafür nötigen Boote im Marinearsenal bauen zu lassen. Am 23. Juni 1863 erbat Hahn von der Wiener Akademie die Begleitung eines tüchtigen Photographen, der erstens eine Anzahl der malerischen Städtebilder und zweitens von den höchsten Bergspitzen am Reiseweg aus eine Anzahl von Rundansichten aufnehmen sollte. Die Akademie gewann für die Reise den fünfundzwanzigjährigen Dr. Josef Székely und stellte für die Bilder die nötigen Mittel zur Verfügung.

Josef Székely

Der Wiener Fotograf, Josef Székely (1838-1901), wurde im westungarischen Sümeg geboren und ging in Steinamanger (Szombathely) zur Schule. Im Jahre 1860 schloss er sein Studium an der Universität Wien mit einem Magister der Pharmazie ab, das ihm später im Jahre 1862 den Titel eines Dr. chem. einbrachte. Székely wirkte einige Zeit als Dozent an der Universität, eröffnete dann ein Atelier am Heinrichshof gegenüber der Wiener Oper. Als Fotograf erwarb er sich rasch einen bedeutenden Ruf. Im Jahre 1867 gewann er auf der Pariser Weltausstellung eine Bronzemedaille - vielleicht mit den Fotos der Albanienreise - und im Jahre 1878 gewann er ebenfalls in Paris eine Silbermedaille.

Die Balkanexpedition

Anfang August 1863 verließ Hahn sein Konsulat auf der Insel Syros und landete am 12. des Monats in Durrës an der Adria. Er fand die Stadt in “genau demselben Zustand wie vor dreizehn Jahren; kaum fünfzig Köpfe Zuwachs.” Von Durrës aus fuhr er das Erzental hoch, an Ndroq vorbei, und bewegte sich dann in nördlicher Richtung nach Shkodra. Dort traf er am 31. August 1863 ein, wo er die anderen Teilnehmer der Expedition antraf. Unter ihnen waren nicht nur der junge Székely und der Schiffsleutnant Hermann von Spaun (1833-1919), die aus Bar (Antivari) angereist waren, sondern auch Hahns alter Freund, Dr. Auerbach, der im Jahre 1845 nach Vlora gekommen und von der vornehmen Familie Bey Vlora als Familienarzt angestellt war, und der Franziskanerpriester, Angelo Bardhi.

In Shkodra machte Székely acht eindrucksvolle Fotos, die vermutlich die ersten Außenaufnahmen der Stadt sind. Bald darauf bewegte sich die Expedition in zwei Booten flussaufwärts an Deja, Vjerdha, Shurdhah, Koman (zwei Foto- grafien) und Dukagjin vorbei. Der Fluss wurde immer enger, bis die Gruppe bei Toplana nicht weiterkam. Mit seinem schweren Gepäck wurde Székely gezwungen nach Shkodra zurückzukehren, während die anderen Teilnehmer ihre Reise mit zwei Matrosen auf dem Landweg fortsetzten.

Die Gruppe fand sich in Prizren wieder zusammen, damals die größte Stadt Albaniens. Prizren hatte offiziell 11.540 Häuser, die 46.000 Einwohner beherbergten, von denen 36.000 Muslime, 8.000 Bulgaren und Wlachen und 2.000 katholische Christen waren. Sie besaß nicht weniger als sechsundzwanzig Moscheen, sowie zwei orthodoxe und eine katholische Kirche. Shkodra, Durrës und Vlora waren dagegen kleine Dörfer. Hier machte Székely Anfang September 1863 fünf Aufnahmen. Von Prizren kehrten die Expeditionsteilnehmer an den Schwarzen Drin zurück und reisten in südlicher Richtung nach Dibra (Debar). Dieses Gebiet wurde bisher kaum erforscht und galt als unsicher. Dazu schrieb Hahn: “In demselben Dunkel wie der vereinte Drin lag auch das Tal des Schwarzen Drin von der Stadt Dibra bis zur Vereinigung der beiden Drinarme. Es ist als das größte Räubernest verschrien und wird daher von seiner nächsten Nachbarschaft gemieden.” Die Gruppe durchquerte das Gebiet ohne Probleme. Dort beschwerte Hahn sich lediglich, dass er die dortige Mundart nur schwer verstehen konnte. “Denn die mir an sich schon schwer verständliche gegische Mundart wird in Mat und Dibra in einer Weise gesprochen, dass ich, wenn die Leute untereinander sprachen, kaum hier und da ein Wort erhaschen konnte.” Nach Ankunft in Dibra am 21. September 1863 machte Székely zwei Aufnahmen. Das Fotografieren war damals eine langwierige Angelegenheit. Mit der mitgeschleppten “photo- graphischen Maschine” und dem Plattenwagen brauchte er zweiundhalb Stunden, um einen mächtigen, romantischen Felsenriss aufzunehmen. Hahn machte die Bemerkung, “dass man die Photographien noch nicht neben dem Wege pflücken, sondern dass man nur entweder reisen oder photographieren kann.” Von Dibra aus bewegte sich die Gruppe weiter nach Struga am Ohridsee.

Hahn war vom gewaltigen Ohridsee fasziniert und notierte sich dreizehn verschiedene Speisefischarten. Besucht wurde der Kloster von Kalishta, die Stadt Ohrid mit seinen alten, teils in Moscheen umgewandelten Kirchen und schließlich das am Südende des Sees befindliche berühmte Sweti Naum Kloster aus dem 16. Jahrhundert. Die Teilnehmer verbrachten am Ohridsee zehn Tage, wobei Székely genug Zeit hatte, seine Aufnahmen zu machen. In Ohrid und dem umliegenden Gebiet entstanden elf Fotografien. Seine Bilder von Sweti Naum dürften die einzigen noch erhaltenen sein, die aufgenommen wurden, bevor die Anlage im Jahre 1875 Opfer eines Brandes wurde. Von Ohrid aus reiste die Gruppe zum Prespasee weiter und bewegte sich bei strömendem Regen in östliche Richtung nach Monastir (Bitola). Es war nun Oktober. Hier begegnete Hahn dem osmanischen Brigadegeneral Faik Pascha, der in Wien studiert hatte. Székely machte einige Aufnahmen osmanischer Formationen vor der gewaltigen im Jahre 1839 errichteten Kaserne. Von Prilep reisten sie weiter nach Weles am Vardar, und von dort aus durch das Eiserne Tor (Demir Kapi) nach Salonika an der Ägäis. In Salonika wurden fünf Aufnahmen gemacht. Anschließend schifften sich Hahn und Székely nach den Dardanellen ein, um nach Troja in Kleinasien zu gelangen.

Die Székely-Sammlung

Johann Georg von Hahn war der historische Beitrag von Székely durchaus bewusst. Seiner Meinung nach durften die Székely-Fotos “dem Besten an die Seite gesetzt werden, was die Photographie in dieser Richtung bis jetzt geleistet hat.” Leider erwies sich die Herausgabe der Fotografien für die Wiener Akademie der Wissenschaften als zu kost- spielig. Daher wurden sie in dem in den Jahren 1867 und 1869 veröffentlichten Abschlussbericht der Expedition nicht mitgedruckt. In den folgenden Jahren geriet die Székely-Sammlung in Vergessenheit. Im Jahre 1889 erschienen dreizehn der Székely-Fotografien in dem von von Spiridion Gopčević (1855-1936) herausgegebenen Buch Makedonien und Alt-Serbien, doch ohne Angabe des Fotografen und des Jahres. Danach verschwand die Sammlung für mehr als ein Jahrhundert. Entdeckt wurde sie schließlich in der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek in Wien im Jahre 2000 durch Mark Cohen.

Die Fotosammlung des Josef Székely aus dem Jahre 1863 ist für die Kulturgeschichte der südlichen Balkanhalbinsel von historischer Bedeutung. Es handelt sich auch um Bilder von hohem ästhetischen Wert. Mit Ausnahme eines einzigen Porträts des Aufständischen Hamzë Kazazi durch Pietro Marubbi (1834-1903) von Shkodra im Jahre 1858 sind die Székely-Fotos die frühesten Aufnahmen, die in Albanien je gemacht wurden. Sie dürften auch die ersten Aufnahmen von Kosova sein und unter den frühesten von Mazedonien.

Die Székely-Sammlung wurde zum ersten Mal in dem Bildband Writing in Light: Early Photography of Albania and the Southwestern Balkans, Prishtina 2007, veröffentlicht. Die Fotografien des Josef Székely werden im Bildarchiv der Österreichischen Nationalbibliothek (www.bildarchiv.at) aufbewahrt, der wir für die Genehmigung zur Verwendung herzlich danken.

Robert Elsie

 

 

TOP

Robert Elsie | AL Art | AL History | AL Language | AL Literature | AL Photography | Contact |

Robert Elsie

Early Photography in Albania

 
BACK  |  AL Photography
Webdesign J. Groß

The Photo Collection
of Josef Székely
Deutsch | Shqip

Albania – Kosova  – Macedonia
1863

The pictures taken by Viennese photographer Josef Székely during the 1863 Austro-Hungarian expedition to northern Albania, Kosova and Macedonia, led by Johann Georg von Hahn, would seem to be the very first photographs ever made of this region of southeastern Europe. It was an expedition into one of the least known corners of Europe.

The German scholar Johann Georg von Hahn (1811-1869) is commonly regarded as the father of Albanian studies. He was born in Frankfurt am Main and studied law in Giessen and Heidelberg. From 1834 to 1843, he worked for the legal authorities of the newly founded Kingdom of Greece. From 1843 to 1847, he represented the Prussian consulate in Athens, and then transferred to the Austrian vice-consulate in Janina where he came into contact with the Albanians and began learning Albanian. Finally, in 1851, he was appointed Austrian consul for eastern Greece, with its headquarters on the island of Syros in the Aegean Sea.

Josef Székely VUES IV 41055
Bar (Antivari): taken in the rain. ca. 25 August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41056
Shkodra: the fortress. End of August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41057
Shkodra: view from the fortress. End of August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41058
Shkodra: view from the fortress over Lake Shkodra. End of August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41059
Shkodra: view from the fortress in a southeastern direction. End of August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41060
Shkodra: view of Bahçallëk, a suburb of Shkodra. End of August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41061
Shkodra: Albanian woman (Scutarine bride). End of August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41062
Shkodra: two Albanian women in Scutarine costume. End of August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41063
Shkodra: bridge of the Kir river near Shkodra. End of August 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41064
Koman: gorge of the Drin. Early September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41065
Koman: view of the eastern side of the second Drin narrows. Early September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41066
Prizren: view to the southeast, 1. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41067
Prizren: view to the southeast, continuation. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41068
Prizren: slope of the fortress of Prizren. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41069
Prizren: slope of the fortress of Prizren, continuation. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41070
Prizren: the bridge of Prizren. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41071
Dibra: path through the cliffs near Dibra. September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41072
Dibra: 21 September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41073
Ohrid: view from the southeast. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41074
Ohrid: view from the southeast. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41075
Ohrid: close-up. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41076
Ohrid: Sophia mosque seen from the eastern side. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41077
Ohrid: Sophia mosque seen from the western side. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41078
Ohrid: ruins. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41079
Ohrid: southern end of town. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41080
Albanians from Dibra: group of four Palikars. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41081
Kalishta: monastery on Lake Ohrid, view from the south. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41082
Saint Naum: monastery on Lake Ohrid, view from the south. End of September 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41083
Saint Naum: monastery on Lake Ohrid, view from the north. End of September 1863
Josef Székely VUES IV 41084
Monastir [Bitola]: view from the south. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41085
Monastir [Bitola]: view from the south. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41086
Monastir [Bitola]: view from the south. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41087
Monastir [Bitola]: formation of Ottoman troops. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41088
Monastir [Bitola]: headquarters of the Ottoman army. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41089
Monastir [Bitola]: group of Ottoman soldiers. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41090
Monastir [Bitola]: group of Ottoman artillerymen. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41091
Prilep: the fortress of King Marko. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41092
Prilep: the fortress of King Marko, taken after sunset. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41093
Veles: bridge over the Vardar. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41094
Veles: the left bank of the river. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41095
Demir Kapi: gorge of the Vardar seen from the north. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41096
Demir Kapi: view from inside the gorge. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41097
Demir Kapi: view from inside the gorge. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41098
Gypsies musician from Macedonia. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41099
Gypsies musicians from Macedonia, seated. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41100
Salonika (Thessalonika): seen from the south. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41101
Salonika (Thessalonika): seen from the south, continuation. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41102
Salonika (Thessalonika): the school of Saint Paul. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41103
Salonika (Thessalonika): the Church of Saint Paul. October 1863 Josef Székely VUES IV 41104
Salonika (Thessalonika): dervish monastery near Salonika. October 1863 simple jquery lightboxby VisualLightBox.com v5.9

Hahn toured Albania three times during his years in Janina and gathered much information on Albanian history, philology and folklore. This material was published in good part in his seminal three-part Albanesische Studien  (Albanian Studies), Jena 1854, which laid the foundations for multi- disciplinary Albanian studies. He is also remembered for the volume Griechische und albanesische Märchen (Greek and Albanian Folk Tales), Leipzig 1864, and for accounts of his expeditions in the Balkans Reise von Belgrad nach Salonik (Journey from Belgrade to Salonica), Vienna 1861, and Reise durch die Gebiete des Drin und Vardar (Journey through the Region of the Drin and Vardar), Vienna 1867, 1869.

The latter journey from August to November 1863 took Hahn and his companions from Durrës and Shkodra on the Adriatic coast up the Drin river to Prizren in Kosova, through western Macedonia and then down the Vardar river to Salonica (Thessalonika) on the Aegean Sea. His interests in Albania and the southwestern Balkans were wide ranging, and it was on the course of this journey that, in addition to his research, he also, perhaps unwittingly, laid the foundations to the history of photography in the southwestern Balkans. The 1863 expedition resulted in a collection of fifty photographs which are among the earliest ever taken of the region.

In the early 1860s, Hahn had begun preparations for the expedition up the Drin river which, he noted: “... is the least known of all the rivers of Europe although it flows into the Adriatic a mere ten miles from the southern border of imperial (Austro-Hungarian) territory. No one before me has ever travelled the twenty hours along the river between the point where its two tributaries flow together and the coast.” Archduke Maximilian (1832-1867), later to become Emperor of Mexico (r. 1864-1867), was enthusiastic about the project and promised to have portable boats built for him. On 23 June 1863, Hahn wrote to the Academy of Sciences in Vienna requesting a competent photographer to accompany him and take photographs of the towns and mountain terrain. The Academy proposed the twenty-five- year-old Josef Széleky and made the requisite funds available for the expedition.

Josef Székely

The Viennese photographer Dr. Josef Székely (1838-1901) was born in Sümeg near Lake Balaton in western Hungary and went to school in Szombathely. He then attended the University of Vienna and graduated in 1860 with a masters in pharmacy and in 1862 with a doctorate in chemistry. He taught at the university for a time, but then, opening an atelier in Heinrichshof near the Viennese Opera, he became a professional photographer, and one of substantial repute. In 1867 he won the Bronze Prize at the World’s Fair in Paris (possibly with the photographs of Albania), and in 1878 he won a silver medal in Paris.

The Expedition

Hahn departed from his consulate on the Aegean island of Syros and landed in Durrës on 12 August 1863. There he noted: “The town has not changed since my last visit thirteen years ago, not even fifty inhabitants more.” He travelled up the Erzen river past Ndroq and then northwards along the coastal plain to Shkodra. Here on 31 August 1863, he met up with the young Székely and marine lieutenant Hermann von Spaun (1833-1919) who had arrived from Bar (Antivari). Also with the group was von Hahn’s old friend, Dr. Auerbach, who had served from 1845 onwards as the family doctor of the Bey of Vlora, and the Franciscan priest, Angelo Bardhi.

It was in Shkodra that Székely took eight quite spectacular photos, no doubt the first ever taken of the town and its imposing fortress. Soon thereafter the expedition set out in two boats up the Drin river, passing Deja, Vjerdha, Shurdhah, Koman (two photographs) and Dukagjin. The river grew narrower and narrower, and near Toplana it became impossible for them to sail any further. Székely, who had heavy equipment with him, was obliged to turn back and return to Shkodra by boat, while the rest of the members of the expedition continued their journey up the valley by land.

The group was reunited in Prizren which, at the time, was the largest city in Albania. Prizren had a total of ca. 46,000 inhabitants, of whom 36,000 Muslims, 8,000 Bulgarians and Vlachs, and 2,000 Catholics. It had no less than twenty- six mosques as well as two Orthodox and one Catholic churches. Shkodra, Durrës and Vlora were villages by comparison. Here in early September 1863, Székely took five photographs. Leaving Prizren, the expedition returned to the Black Drin and advanced southwards to Dibra (Debar). This region had never been explored before and enjoyed a dubious reputation. Hahn wrote: “Just as unknown as the lower Drin river was the valley of the Black Drin between the town of Dibra and the point where the two tributaries of the river flow together. It is alleged to be a den of thieves and is thus avoided by its neighbours.” Hahn passed through the region with no difficulty, except that he could not understand the Albanian spoken by the natives. Having arrived in Dibra on 21 September 1863, Székely took two photographs. It was a time-consuming enterprise. Struggling with the “photographic machine” and the wagon of plates he had brought with him, he needed a full two and a half hours to take one picture of a massive and romantic cliff. This proved to Hahn that “photography is not something you can do on the side, you can either travel or take photographs.” From Dibra, they continued on to Struga on Lake Ohrid.

Hahn was particularly fascinated by the lake and noted thirteen different types of fish in it. They visited the monastery of Kalishta, the town of Ohrid with its many beautiful Orthodox churches, and of course the famed sixteenth-century monastery of Sveti Naum at the south end of the lake. Von Hahn and his party spent a total of ten days in Ohrid, and Székely had ample time to photograph. Indeed eleven photographs were made of Ohrid and the surrounding region. His picture of Sveti Naum appears to be the only photograph of the monastery before it was largely destroyed by fire in 1875. From Ohrid, the group continued on to Lake Prespa and advanced eastwards in the pouring rain to Monastir (Bitola). It was now October. Monastir was a major town and military encampment in the region and Hahn was welcomed here by Ottoman Brigadier General Faik Pasha, who had studied in Vienna. Székely was able to take some interesting photographs of an Ottoman military formation in front of their huge barracks, constructed in 1839. From Prilep, they travelled on to Veles on the Vardar river, where they found boats and were able to sail southwards through the Iron Gate (Demir Kapi) to Salonica on the Aegean. Five photographs were taken there. From Salonica, Hahn and Székely continued eastwards to Troy in Asia Minor.

The Székely Collection

Johann Georg von Hahn was well aware of Székely’s historic contribution to the expedition. He noted that the photographs can “easily be compared to the best photography has produced in this field.” Unfortunately, publication of the photographs proved too expensive for the Viennese Academy of Sciences and they were omitted from the report Hahn published of the expedition in 1867 and 1869. The result was that the Székely collection, among the earliest photos ever taken in the southern Balkans, fell into oblivion. In 1889, thirteen of the photographs found their way into the volume Makedonien und Alt-Serbien (Macedonia and Old Serbia) by Spiridion Gopčević  (1855-1936), but they were not attributed to Székely and were left undated. After that, the collection disappeared for over a century, to be rediscovered in the Austrian National Library in 2000 by Mark Cohen.

Josef Székely’s photographs of the southern Balkans in 1863 are of great historical and notable artistic significance. With the exception of one sole portrait of the rebel Hamzë Kazazi made by Pietro Marubbi (1834-1903) in Shkodra in 1858, they are the first photos ever taken in Albania. They may also be the earliest ever taken in Kosova and are certain among the first in Macedonia.

The Székely Collection was first published in the album Writing in Light: Early Photography of Albania and the Southwestern Balkans, Prishtina 2007. The photographs are now archived in the Bildarchiv of the Austrian National Library in Vienna (www.bildarchiv.at) to whom we are grateful for permission to make them available here.

Robert Elsie

 

 

TOP